Wall-Mounted Plant Shelves: 3 Listed Options to Check
Quick answer: before you buy a wall-mounted plant shelf, check three things on the listing: the load limit, the shelf depth in inches, and what hardware comes in the box. Three wall-mounted ladder shelves in our product file name plants as a use. None is sold as a plant-specific shelf, and none of the listings says anything about light, drainage or pot size, so those checks are yours to make.
Everything below comes from manufacturer listing data that we checked on 12 October 2026. We have not installed or tested these shelves. Listings change, so confirm each figure on the product page before you order.
What a wall plant shelf has to do
A wall shelf for plants has four jobs, and a listing rarely answers all of them. The first is to carry the load. Soil and a watered pot weigh far more than a stack of books, so compare the listed limit with the weight of your heaviest pot, not the weight of an empty one. The second is to fit the depth. The pot’s base should sit fully on the shelf, with room to spare at the front, so measure the base of your pot against the shelf depth in the listing. The third is to mount into the wall you actually have. The hardware list matters more than the photo. The fourth is light. A shelf does not supply light for a plant, so check your window or a separate light against what the plant needs.
Ladder shelves are a common choice because they stand narrow and take up little floor space. Their open tiers also let you see every pot at once. The trade-off is that each tier is smaller than a plank shelf, so the widest pots may not fit well on the upper tiers.
The three listed options
ELYKEN Ladder Shelf, 5-Tier Wood Wall Mounted Ladder Bookshelf, Black
- Use: the listing names bedroom, living room and office use, and says the shelves can hold plants along with photo frames, books and candles
- Size: 11.6 in deep, 15.4 in wide, 70 in tall (listed)
- Load: 22 lb per layer, 110 lb total (listed)
- Weight: 17.2 lb (listed)
- Hardware: hardware and mounting brackets are listed as included
Good fit if you want a stated total load and a black finish. Skip it if you want a shelf that only mounts to the wall, because the bullets also describe adjustable feet for uneven floors (see the conflicts below).
View on Amazon (Affiliate link)
HOOBRO DIY Ladder Shelf, 6-Tier Wall Mounted Bookshelf, Rustic Brown and Black
- Use: the listing says the open shelves can be used as a plant rack, bookshelf or display stand
- Size: 9.4 in deep, 23.6 in wide, 76.8 in tall (listed)
- Load: the listing does not state a weight limit
- Weight: the listing does not state an item weight
- Mounting: the spec table says wall mount, and the bullets say the shelves can be bolted to the wall, with hardware said to be provided
- Door width: minimum required door width is listed as 23.6 in
Good fit if the wall space is narrow and 9.4 in of depth is your limit, and you can check the load another way. Skip it if you need a stated weight limit before you buy, because this listing gives none.
View on Amazon (Affiliate link)
Tajsoon 5 Tier Ladder Bookshelf with Light, Wall Ladder Shelf, Rustic Brown
- Use: the listing says the shelf can store plants, books and other items, in bedroom, kitchen, living room or office
- Size: the bullets give 11.6 in deep, 16.9 in wide and 70.1 in tall; the spec table gives the width and depth the other way round (see the conflicts below)
- Load: the bullets say each panel holds 35 lb; the spec table lists 175 lb as the maximum weight capacity
- Weight: 15.8 lb (listed)
- Light: a built-in light strip with three adjustable colors, described for reading, working or relaxing
Good fit if you also want reading light on the shelf. Skip it if you hope the light will help a plant grow, because the listing does not describe plant use, light output or color for growing.
View on Amazon (Affiliate link)
All three are listed as wall-mounted, and all three name plants as one use among many. That makes them a plant option by use, not a plant shelf by design. Compare them on the figures above, not on the word “plant” in the title.
Listing conflicts to check before you buy
- Tajsoon width and depth are swapped. The bullets give 11.6 in deep and 16.9 in wide. The spec table gives 16.93 in deep and 11.61 in wide. Measure the wall space yourself before you order.
- Tajsoon load figures differ. The bullets say 35 lb per panel, and the spec table says 175 lb maximum. The listing does not explain how the two relate, so do not rely on the 175 lb figure alone.
- ELYKEN mounting is unclear. The spec table says wall mount. One bullet says the top tubes attach to the wall and the adjustable feet suit uneven floors. Confirm the intended setup before you order.
- HOOBRO tier count is unclear. The title says 6 tiers, and one bullet describes 6 open shelves, while another describes 5 tiers of shelves. Count the tiers on the product page.
What the listings do not tell you
- Pot size and drainage: none of the three mentions pot dimensions, drainage holes or water handling.
- Plant light: none states light output, and only Tajsoon has a light, which is described for reading and ambiance.
- Wall fixings: the listings say hardware is included or provided, but none says which wall types it suits. Plaster, tile and hollow walls usually need different fixings, so check the hardware list against your wall.
- Water: none of the three is described as water-resistant, so keep a drip tray under any watered pot.
When not to buy a wall plant shelf
- If your pots are heavy and you cannot find a stated load limit, skip the HOOBRO until the listing gives one.
- If the plant needs strong light, a shelf will not fix that. Solve the light first, then choose the shelf.
- If you cannot fix bolts into your wall, a freestanding plant stand is the simpler choice. Do not use any of these listings as a substitute for a fixing you have not checked.
Frequently asked questions
Which of the three has the highest stated load?
ELYKEN has the clearest figure: 22 lb per layer and 110 lb total, both listed. Tajsoon’s spec table shows 175 lb, but its bullets say 35 lb per panel, so treat the higher number with caution until the listing is clear.
Do the shelves come with wall hardware?
ELYKEN lists hardware and mounting brackets as included. HOOBRO’s assembly text says the hardware is provided. Tajsoon lists a rod as its included component, and the listing does not say what the rod is for. Check the box contents on the product page before you order.
Will a plant shelf work without a plant light?
That depends on the plant and the window. None of these listings states light output for plants, so check what your plant needs separately. Tajsoon’s light strip is described for reading, working and relaxing, not for plant growth.
Which one suits a narrow wall?
Compare depth first. HOOBRO is listed at 9.4 in deep, and ELYKEN and Tajsoon’s bullets give 11.6 in. Measure the wall space and the base of your pot, then choose the shelf that leaves room for both.
Related guides
Disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. We do not show prices, star ratings or review counts here, so check the current figures on Amazon.